WAPLINGTON, Arthur

Private Arthur Waplington
14040 Northumberland Fusiliers

Arthur Waplngton was born in 1895 at Jacksdale, Notts, son of Thomas Waplington born Ironville, a general labourer and steel smelter and his wife Hannah (nee Scorer) born Kirkstall, Yorkshire. Arthur had brothers and sisters, Bertha, Frances Hilda, Doris and Denis.  Thomas and Hannah lived at Codnor Park for the first few years of their marriage and by 1893 had moved to Jacksdale, living on Jacksdale Common (Main Road). In 1901 the family was living at Sedgwick Street, Jacksdale but by 1911 had moved to Franklin Road, by which time, Arthur aged 16 was a foundry worker. His elder sisters Bertha and Frances Hilda were employed at home on domestic duties.

As there was no school in Jacksdale until 1908, prior to that date Jacksdale children attended Ironville & Codnor Park School. Below is a photograph of Arthur in 1906  aged just 11 as a pupil at Ironville School.

WaplingtonArthur IV 1906IVSchoolsml

By the time his youngest brother Denis came of school age, Denis attended Jacksdale ‘Council Schools’ and appears, also aged 11,  in the 1918 photograph below.

E

Arthur’s military records do not seem to have survived but his Medal Rolls Index Card indicates that he was on active service in France from 9th September 1915 and was a recipient of the 1914-15 Star, as well as the British War and Victory Medals. He is also listed on the Absent Voters Roll 1918/1919 indicating that he did serve during WW1 for 4 to 5 years.

In 1927, on the 3rd of September Arthur, resident of Franklin Road, Jacksdale,  married Ethel Eggleshaw of York Avenue, Jacksdale at Westwood, St Mary’s . Arthur was aged 32 at time of marriage, a bachelor then employed as a clerk and Ethel, a spinster, was aged 27.

In 1930 they had a son named Roger. Arthur died just 18 years after their marriage at the relatively young age of 50. He is buried at Westwood, St Mary’s and the inscription on the grave reads ‘ Sacred to the memory of Arthur Waplington.  Love’s last gift – remembrance.’

We would very much appreciate further information relating to this family.